Housing: South Miami

There are many unique neighborhoods in Miami. Some students choose to live in South Miami, which is a little bit south of the University of Miami is. This is what they think about it.


img_9588Name: Louisa
Country: China

How do you arrive to the IEP? I take an Uber or Lyft
How long does it take? It takes only 5 minutes.
Who do you live with? I live with 2 friends from the IEP, and one non-IEP friend. I went to high school with two of them. 
What kind of home? We live in a house with a private owner.
What are some of the apartment amenities? We have a washer/dryer inside the home, a swimming pool, an exercise room, and a parking spot.


img_6713Name: Junko
Country: Japan

How do you arrive to the IEP? I ride my bicycle
How long does it take? It takes 10 minutes.
Who do you live with? I live with non-IEP friends
What kind of home? We live in a house with a private owner.
What are some of the apartment amenities? We have a swimming pool, bike racks, and wifi.
What do you LOVE about your neighborhood? I like that it’s near the university, grocery stores, and the metro-rail.
What do you DISLIKE about your neighborhood? There are many old houses, including my house, so there are many ants and lizards.
Would you recommend South Miami to others? Yes , I would definitely recommend it.


img_9597Name: Jason
Country: Taiwan

How do you arrive to the IEP? I ride my bicycle
How long does it take? It takes 15 minutes.
Who do you live with? I live with 4 friends I met in the IEP.
What kind of home? We live in an apartment. I’m not sure if the owner is private or through an association.
What are some of the apartment amenities? We have a swimming pool, community room, bike racks, and a parking spot. 
What do you LOVE about your neighborhood? I like that it’s safe and quiet.
What do you DISLIKE about your neighborhood? It’s a little bit dirty.
Would you recommend South Miami to others? Yes , I would recommend living in south Miami because it is very convenient, near the school and has many supermarkets and Restaurants; it’s maybe a little expensive, but I recommend it.


Want first-hand experience?
Speak with an IEP student ambassador

Leave a Reply

