Housing: Coral Gables

There are many unique neighborhoods in Miami. Some students choose to live in Coral Gables, which is where the University of Miami is. This is what they think about it.


img_8161Name: Miao Ai
Country: China

How do you arrive to the IEP? I come by Uber/Lyft.
How long does it take? It only takes about 10 minutes. There’s no traffic because I leave home very early, at 7:20am.
Who do you live with? I live with 2 people. I found my roommates from a Chinese WeChat group.
What kind of home? We live in an apartment that is owned by an association.
What are some of the apartment amenities? We have a balcony, swimming pool, exercise room, community room, parking spot, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a washer/dryer inside the apartment.
What do you LOVE about your neighborhood? I love that my friends live near me, so we can have meals together. 
What do you DISLIKE about your neighborhood? Sometimes I have some different views with my roommate.
Would you recommend Coral Gables to others? Yes, definitely. It’s very convenient to live here. 


img_9610Name: Tawfiq Aljohani
Country: Saudi Arabia

How do you arrive to the IEP? I walk.
How long does it take? It only takes about 10 minutes walking. If it’s nighttime, I take an Uber. 
Who do you live with? I live with alone.
What kind of home? I live in a studio room, that is connected to a house with a private owner.
What are some of the apartment amenities? I have a dishwasher, wifi, and 1 bathroom.
What do you LOVE about your neighborhood? I like that it’s close to UM, and to the metrorail. It’s also near to Sunset Place. 
What do you DISLIKE about your neighborhood? There has been some crime near me. I got two bicycles stolen. I don’t feel safe walking at night (Coral Gables, west of campus).


Want first-hand experience?
Speak with an IEP student ambassador

Leave a Reply

